top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureScott Johnson

The Mill

Updated: Jan 30, 2022

It was on a rainy Tuesday and it didn't happen at all like I thought it would. I have no clue how I got there, all of a sudden I was standing in front of the rickety old bridge at the Startex mill near Duncan, SC. It was misty, gray and the air smelled peculiar; like that funky aroma of bad squash. Not strongly, but just a whiff or two to set your thoughts back a few years and helping Daddy haul furniture into someone's house. I watched as the water raced over and around the rocks and detritus that had accumulated with the passage of time and lack of periodic maintenance when I felt the bridge buck, and sway ever so slightly. As I raise my eyes from the falling of the waters of the Tyger River, my brother Matt walks up. I'm speechless, but Matt isn't! He says "What's up, cool breeze? How ya like Puff? I bet you been wondering how she got where she was? I made sure she got in your hands!" I grinned and said "I kinda thought so"


No sooner had the words come out of my mouth Mama and Daddy walk up out of nowhere. Daddy has on a hunting jacket and that hat I can't stand, and Mama is wearing a wind suit with her sunglasses on, looking for all the world like 1988.

Mama looks at me and says "How do you like the work I've done with Meghan? I've been the angel over her shoulder and have kept her safe from harm, and whispered to her the thoughts of a strong woman and just look how wonderful and powerful she has become!" Again, I grinned and said "I kinda thought so"


Daddy eases up and said "Son, all your success in life and ability is endowed by both of our fathers, but we can see to it that events move in your favor as a constant reminder that we are still with you and are watching over you and want you to come join us forever"


I said "Daddy, it wasn't the abundance of skill nor opportunity provided. It wasn't a special hand to guide Meghan through tough times. It wasn't a kitten from nowhere. It was none of those gifts.....it was the gift of nearly fifty years of wonderful memories that make me want to join you and everyone else."


Have a "Rice" Day!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How He Became Santa

I was a bit slow in the accepting that Santa was not some fella in a cool sleigh with unusual reindeer for power. As a matter of fact, I was at least a first grade kid when I finally approached Mama a

Snatch! Grab! Bend! Twist!

Speck Rowe was Allen and Wills grandfather. He was Pater Familias, the chief sage of not only the Rowe house that stood on the corner of Fayetteville Avenue and Parsonage Street but for anyone that ha

Miss Shirley

Matt and I had many names for Mama that we used casually and usually in jest. Atlas was one, for she loved nothing more than carrying the weight of the world on her shoulders. Miss Shay-ron was anothe

bottom of page